Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutDownloadVariantsLadderForumCompetitionSpoilersComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 14, 2008, 05:23   #1
ChodTheWacko
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
ChodTheWacko is on a distinguished road
Problems running Angband

Hi Everyone.

I've run Angband on this computer before - I used to download the code & compile it via cygwin with no issues. I stopped for a while when some bugs appeared that I was waiting to get fixed (connected stairs, for example).

Anyway, recently I've had major issues compiling and/or running angband
in windows mode.
1) Main screen appears, text is 'overlapped' and unreadable.
When I try to change font, the game crashes.
I can 'play' it although I can't really read anything. On the character creation screens, I can read whatever line I'm highliting though.

2) I tried nuking everything. Now angband just doesn't start at all.
It hangs - I can see the process running, but nothing appears at all.

I tried downloading and running the nightly builds, too - same issue.

Any insights?
This is windows XP

- Frank
ChodTheWacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14, 2008, 07:07   #2
Pete Mack
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,399
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
I have no idea why it's not starting up at all, but the horizontally chopped lines are a known bug. To fix it:

1. Copy the 'extended font files' from NPP into your font folder. (They all end in X.fon)
2. Edit main-win.c so that the default font is one of the NPP fonts. (8x12x.fon works fine.)

Something is subtly wrong with the original windows fonts, but it only shows up on some XP installations.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16, 2008, 00:24   #3
ChodTheWacko
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
ChodTheWacko is on a distinguished road
Okay, well, this is the weirdest thing I've ever seen.

If I run the binary, and I have a 'command prompt' open, Angband hangs at startup. If I exit all command windows, then it will start.
The hanging Angband will also resume if I exit the command prompt.

So I can do something like:
start -> run -> cmd

in the new command prompt:
F:\Documents and Settings\Frank>cd i:\games\angsrc\trunk
F:\Documents and Settings\Frank>i:
I:\games\angsrc\trunk>start angband

(angband hangs)

I:\games\angsrc\trunk>exit

(command prompt closes and angband pops up!)

- Frank

P.S. Thanks for the help, Pete.
ChodTheWacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16, 2008, 23:28   #4
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,599
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChodTheWacko View Post
Okay, well, this is the weirdest thing I've ever seen.

If I run the binary, and I have a 'command prompt' open, Angband hangs at startup. If I exit all command windows, then it will start.
The hanging Angband will also resume if I exit the command prompt.

So I can do something like:
start -> run -> cmd

in the new command prompt:
F:\Documents and Settings\Frank>cd i:\games\angsrc\trunk
F:\Documents and Settings\Frank>i:
I:\games\angsrc\trunk>start angband

(angband hangs)

I:\games\angsrc\trunk>exit

(command prompt closes and angband pops up!)

- Frank

P.S. Thanks for the help, Pete.
I haven't got a copy of XP at the moment, so I don't know how to help, but this is truly bizarre behaviour. Does this also happen for e.g. 3.0.6 or 2.9.3?
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17, 2008, 04:53   #5
ChodTheWacko
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
ChodTheWacko is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
I haven't got a copy of XP at the moment, so I don't know how to help, but this is truly bizarre behaviour. Does this also happen for e.g. 3.0.6 or 2.9.3?
Seems to work for 3.0.6.
Happened also for 3.0.9 and 3.0.9a
I don't know if this is worth pursuing, to be honest - much more
important things to work on.
I suspect it has to with the same reasons I'm needing to use the NPP font files in the first place.

I wanted to make the post though, so anyone else who had this problem would know what the workaround is.

- Frank
ChodTheWacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17, 2008, 05:08   #6
ChodTheWacko
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
ChodTheWacko is on a distinguished road
Okay, the command prompt thing only seems to happen if I use the
'x' fonts from NPP. (using latest build: NPP 0.5.0 BETA-6)

Unfortunately if I don't do that, I can't read anything, due to the font overlap.

But the 'close all command prompts' thing gets the game to start.
Pretty wierd stuff.
ChodTheWacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11, 2008, 04:18   #7
leeus
Rookie
 
leeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Age: 41
Posts: 1
leeus is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChodTheWacko View Post
Hi Everyone.
<snip> Now angband just doesn't start at all.<snip>
Hi there!

I'm new to this forum, but I wanted to add to this thread that the exact same thing is happening to me, after I upgraded from Vanilla Angband 3.0.6 to the new 3.0.9b. Just registered to reply.

I tried also a fresh installation and it's just the same ...

I'll try to debug the code this weekend, to see if I can find any clue to see what is happening ... I hope I can manage to discover something about it.

I'll have XP also, and since it's already happening to me, maybe I can provide a patch, or attach it to ticket #521 ((I love Trac ))

Best of regards,
leandro
leeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7, 2011, 18:35   #8
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,599
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChodTheWacko View Post
Hi Everyone.

I've run Angband on this computer before - I used to download the code & compile it via cygwin with no issues. I stopped for a while when some bugs appeared that I was waiting to get fixed (connected stairs, for example).

Anyway, recently I've had major issues compiling and/or running angband
in windows mode.
1) Main screen appears, text is 'overlapped' and unreadable.
When I try to change font, the game crashes.
I can 'play' it although I can't really read anything. On the character creation screens, I can read whatever line I'm highliting though.

2) I tried nuking everything. Now angband just doesn't start at all.
It hangs - I can see the process running, but nothing appears at all.

I tried downloading and running the nightly builds, too - same issue.

Any insights?
This is windows XP

- Frank
Do you have a screenshot? Every bug like this is another argument in favour of just using the SDL port...
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7, 2011, 19:50   #9
fizzix
Prophet
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, US
Posts: 2,603
fizzix is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChodTheWacko View Post
Okay, well, this is the weirdest thing I've ever seen.

If I run the binary, and I have a 'command prompt' open, Angband hangs at startup. If I exit all command windows, then it will start.
The hanging Angband will also resume if I exit the command prompt.

So I can do something like:
start -> run -> cmd

in the new command prompt:
F:\Documents and Settings\Frank>cd i:\games\angsrc\trunk
F:\Documents and Settings\Frank>i:
I:\games\angsrc\trunk>start angband

(angband hangs)

I:\games\angsrc\trunk>exit

(command prompt closes and angband pops up!)

- Frank

P.S. Thanks for the help, Pete.
I cannot reproduce this on Win XP SP3...
fizzix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7, 2011, 23:34   #10
ChodTheWacko
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
ChodTheWacko is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Do you have a screenshot? Every bug like this is another argument in favour of just using the SDL port...
Here is a screenshot.
I just pulled down a fresh 'git clone' build, compiled it, and ran angband and this is what I see:


If at this point I select another font via window->font->term0, the angband window because as small as possible (i.e. as if I grabbed the lower right corner and made the window as small as possible - you can only see File Window and that's it).

I've had this issue for two years now. I'm currently on windows 7 (which was a clean install, so it's not like I'm still using corrupted xp files). I do have dual monitor if that makes a difference.

My workaround is to use the old NPP fonts, which works for some reason.
It's causing some issues since uniques now use characters not in the old font files, but outside of that, the game runs fine.

The angband hangs issue that was mentioned in the original post was fixed a while back. I believe the game posted a windows message to all the windows and was waiting for a response.

- Frank
ChodTheWacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems angband winxp smokie007 Vanilla 24 November 12, 2007 10:42
problems with 'breeding' monsters Halloween Jack Vanilla 12 November 5, 2007 11:44
Anyone running the nightlies... takkaria Vanilla 3 July 13, 2007 16:54
Problems accessing bug tracker Faust Vanilla 3 April 26, 2007 16:29


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.